Islam

Der Islam. Die Broschüre

Der Islam. Die Broschüre

Islam – A world religion
Islam is the youngest of the three great monotheistic religions. It occurred in the 7th century C. E. in Mecca, where the Prophet Muhammed first received divine revelations. The Qur’an, as we know it today, is a collection of the verses, carefully assembled into coherent chapters (Surahs). More….
Der Koran. Die Broschüre

Der Koran. Die Broschüre

The Qur’an – God’s message
Muslims believe that the Qur’an is God’s word, His last and final message to mankind. The Qur’an stands in the same ranks with Judaism’s and Christianity’s scriptures, the Torah, the Gospel, and the Psalms. The first verses of the Qur’an were revealed to the Prophet Muhammad in the 27th night of Ramadan in the year 610 C. E. More…
Muhammad. Die Broschüre

Muhammad. Die Broschüre

Muhammad – God’s messenger
The Prophet Muhammad is without a doubt one of the most fascinating figures in world history. Upon hearing or pronouncing his name, Muslims say a blessing like “peace be upon him” to stress his status. Many biographies have been written about his life and work, the most prominent of which was authored by Ibn Ishâk, an 8th century scholar. Despite these efforts, many aspects of his personality still remain elusive to many people. More…
Moschee. Die Broschüre

Moschee. Die Broschüre

The Mosque – Muslims in your vicinity
From outside, most mosques in the West are no match for their splendid counterparts in the Islamic World. Many of them were built in the 1960’s and 1970’s by labor immigrants. Especially minarets, tower-like extensions to the main buildings which are used to call to prayer, are often missing. More…
Ramadan. Die Broschüre

Ramadan. Die Broschüre

Ramadan – A time of contemplation
Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic moon calendar, is a month of fasting. For Muslims, it is a spiritually charged and blessed time. Ramadan is inextricably tied to the revelation of the Qur’an: During a spiritual retreat to the mountains of Mecca, the Prophet Muhammad received the first divine revelation on the 27th night of Ramadan. More…
Islamische Feste. Die Broschüre

Islamische Feste. Die Broschüre

Islamic holidays – Times of celebrations and commemoration
The Islamic year is interspersed by many holidays and commemorations. The traditions surrounding these holidays are culturally diverse. The most important holiday is the Feast of Sacrifice. The four-day-holiday starts on the 10th day of Zulhijja, the 12th Islamic month. It marks the end of the annual pilgrimage. More…
Islam Faltblätter

Islam Faltblätter

A short guide to Islam
Islam is the second largest religion in the world. Most of its 1,6 billion adherents live in South Asia and Africa. Islam first occurred in the 7th century C. E. in Mecca, a city in modern-day Saudi Arabia. There, the archangel Gabriel conveyed the first verses of the Qur’ran to the Prophet Muhammad. For Muslims, the Qur’an is God’s word. It stands in the same ranks with the Torah, the Gospel, and the Psalms. More…

Der Islam

Der Islam. Die Broschüre

Der Islam. Die Broschüre

Der Islam. Eine Weltregligion
Der Islam ist die jüngste der drei großen monotheistischen Weltreligionen. Er entstand im 7. Jahrhundert in Mekka im heutigen Saudi-Arabien. Dort erhielt der Prophet Muhammad im Monat Ramadan die erste göttliche Offenbarung. Der Koran, wie wir ihn heute in Händen halten, ist das Ergebnis der akribischen Sammlung, Verschriftlichung und Anordnung der einzelnen Verse (Ayât) zu zusammenhängenden Kapiteln (Suren). Weiterlesen….
Der Koran. Die Broschüre

Der Koran. Die Broschüre

Der Koran. Die Botschaft Gottes
Für Muslime ist der Koran das Wort Gottes, seine letzte und abschließende Botschaft an die Menschen. Er steht in einer Reihe mit den großen Offenbarungsschriften des Christen- und Judentums, Evangelium, Thora und Psalter. Die ersten Verse des Korans wurden dem Propheten Muhammad in der 27. Nacht des Monats Ramadan 610 n. Chr. herabgesandt. Weiterlesen…
Muhammad. Die Broschüre

Muhammad. Die Broschüre

Muhammad. Der gesandte Gottes
Der Prophet Muhammad ist zweifellos eine der faszinierendsten Persönlichkeiten der Weltgeschichte. Sein Leben und Werk sind in zahlreichen Biographien verarbeitet. Die älteste und bekannteste wurde bereits im 8. Jahrhundert von dem Gelehrten Ibn Ishâk verfasst. Trotz allem ist seine Person vielen Menschen auch heute kaum in all ihren Facetten bekannt. Weiterlesen…
Moschee. Die Broschüre

Moschee. Die Broschüre

Die Moscheee. Muslime in Ihrer Nähe
Rein äußerlich haben die meisten der rund 2000 deutschen Moscheen – meist in den 1970er Jahren von Arbeitsmigranten gegründet – wenig mit ihren prachtvollen Vorbildern in der islamischen Welt gemeinsam. Vor allem Minarette, jene turmartigen Anbauten, von denen traditionell fünfmal täglich zum Gebet gerufen wird, findet man hierzulande nur äußerst selten. Weiterlesen…
Ramadan. Die Broschüre

Ramadan. Die Broschüre

Der Ramadan. Die Zeit der Besinnung
Der neunte Monat des islamischen Mondkalenders ist der Fastenmonat Ramadan. Dieser ist für Muslime die wohl wichtigste und segensreichste Zeit im ganzen Jahr. Seine besondere Bedeutung erhält der Ramadan durch den engen Bezug zur Offenbarung des Korans. Weiterlesen…
Islamische Feste. Die Broschüre

Islamische Feste. Die Broschüre

Islamische Feste. Zeiten des Gedenkens und Feierns
Der islamische Kalender hat eine Reihe von Festen und Gedenkfeiern, die je nach Herkunft in unterschiedlicher Weise begangen werden. Der wichtigsten islamischen Feiertage sind das Kurban- und das Ramadanfest. Hinzu kommen gesegnete Nächte, in denen sich Muslime am Abend in den Moscheen versammeln. Weiterlesen…
Islam Faltblätter

Islam Faltblätter

Der Islam – kurz erklärt. Die Faltblattserie
Mit rund 1,6 Milliarden Gläubigen ist der Islam nach dem Christentum die zweitgrößte Religionsgemeinschaft der Welt. Die meisten Muslime leben in Südasien und Afrika. In Deutschland bekennen sich etwa fünf Millionen Menschen zum Islam. Der Islam entstand im 7. Jahrhundert in Mekka im heutigen Saudi-Arabien. Dort wurden dem Propheten Muhammad (s) in einer Nacht des Monats Ramadan durch den Engel Gabriel die ersten Verse des Korans offenbart. Weiterlesen…